Friday Favorites & Sweet Spiced Pumpkin Seeds

FRIDAY!  All of the Thanksgiving themed recipes and crafts I’ve been looking at for Friday Favorites have me super jazzed.  I LOVE THANKSGIVING!!  You’ll notice that I stuck to the Turkey Day theme in this week’s Friday Favorites.

Before we get to Friday Favorites, it is the LAST day of Pumpkin Week.  I’ve had a lot of fun making all of these pumpkin recipes and already have some picked out for the 2nd Annual Pumpkin Week next year. 🙂  For this last recipe, I’m keeping it simple with Sweet Spiced Pumpkin Seeds.  They’re easy, make the house smell amazing, and are the perfect crunchy mix of salty and sweet.  Sometimes the best things are simple.

Sweet Spiced Pumpkin Seeds               Print Recipe Here

From: An Edible Mosaic

Ingredients

1 tablespoon canola oil
1 tablespoon brown sugar
3/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
1 pinch cloves
1 cup hulled pumpkin seeds

Directions

Preheat your oven to 325.  Place the oil and brown sugar in a medium bowl and microwave for about 30 seconds, until warm.  Stir in the cinnamon, salt, nutmeg, and cloves.  Add your pumpkin seeds and stir until the seeds are all coated in the spice mix.  Place the seeds on a lined baking sheet and bake on 325 for 30-40 minutes.  Stir occasionally.  Cool completely and enjoy!

Now begins this week’s Friday Favorites!

***click on the red text to be led to the source of my favorites

Favorite Pie: Deep Dish Pumpkin Pie with Dulce de Leche Walnut Streusel.  You have got to be kidding me.  This sounds AMAZING!

Favorite Platters: Beautiful oversized serving platters from Pottery Barn.  Beautiful.

Favorite Day After Meal: Thanksgiving Leftovers Slider.  This is what I will be eating next Friday.  Mark it down.

Favorite Candle Accent: Place some cranberries in glass jar and place your candle on top.  A simple and elegant decoration for your Thanksgiving table.

Favorite AppetizerGreen Bean Casserole Stuffed Mushrooms.  What an adorably delicious idea!

Favorite Thankful Activity: Make a gratitude jar.  Everyone writes down what they are thankful for and then you read the responses before or after your dinner.  Follow the link for free printables for the jar!

Favorite SpudsWhipped Sweet Potatoes.  I didn’t like sweet potatoes (aka-I never tried them) growing up, now I can’t get enough of them!  These beauties are topped with candied pecans.

Favorite Game: Awkward Family Photos Board Game.  This game is hilarious!  It’d be a great game to play with family and friends this Thanksgiving.

Favorite Cranberries: DIY Jellied Cranberry Sauce.  I can make this at home!?!  I thought the stuff that came in the can was its own weird (and amazing) breed of food.  I never thought I could make it at home!

Favorite Place Card Holder: All you need are walnuts and place cards.  How easy is that?!

Favorite Drink: Spiced Wassail  and Caramel Apple Cider.  I am already picturing myself curled up in front of the fireplace on Thanksgiving night with a steaming glass of this.

Favorite Utensil Holders: Here’s another easy way to set the table for Thanksgiving.  Just take a sheet of paper and stamp or type “Thankful for” and lines on it.  Follow the instructions from the link above to fold your paper so you can fit utensils in it.  I’m loving these simple/brilliant ideas for setting the Thanksgiving table!!

Favorite Salad: Fall Harvest Salad.  This gorgeous salad is loaded with butternut squash, pecans, cranberries, pomegranate, pears, and blue cheese.  This salad will knock the socks off your T’giving guests.

Favorite Fashion: I prefer dresses on Thanksgiving day, they give me more room to eat. 🙂  This one is dashing.

Favorite Side Dish: Baked Apples with Savory Pork Stuffing.  The thought of this dish makes my mouth water.  What a lovely presentation!

Favorite Way to Give Back: For all that I have to be thankful for, I mustn’t forget others who can’t afford a Thanksgiving meal.  Please consider donating to Feeding America this Thanksgiving or find opportunities to serve or give to others in your community.  The joy you can give others by doing this is priceless.

Favorite Coffee Goodie:  Gobble Latte Coffee Spoons.  Ahhh, how adorable!  Chocolate stir sticks for your must-have coffee after your Thanksgiving meal.

Favorite FunnyYou ate my sandwich?!  MY SANDWICH!!!

Happy Friday!

1 thought on “Friday Favorites & Sweet Spiced Pumpkin Seeds

  1. Pingback: Top 12 Recipes of 2012 | Just a Spoonful of Sugar

Leave a comment