Friday Favorites

Friday has arrived!  Hooray!  I’m especially excited for this weekend because Josh is finally done taking the bar exam.  We plan on being pretty low-key this weekend and will surely watch a lot of the Olympics coverage.  What sports in the Summer Olympics do you like best?  My favorites are swimming, track & field, and gymnastics.  When I was a little girl I wanted to be a gymnast.  Unfortunately, I am a tad too tall for that.  Oh, and I might not be the most coordinated lady in the land.  A girl can dream :).  Hope you all have a fantastic weekend!

On another note, I started a Facebook page for Spoonful!  Aside from posting links to my blog posts, I’ll be adding random pictures of food and other snippets on my page!  Please check it out (and like it) at https://www.facebook.com/spoonfulosugarblog.

Here’s my weekly list of favorites from around the web!

*click on red text to be led to the source of my Friday Favorites

Favorite CupcakeStrawberry Crepe Cupcakes.  These look lovely.  I don’t see how you could go wrong with these flavors!

Favorite Dream House Feature A wine rack built into the wall…I’m liking this idea!

Favorite Appetizer: Cucumber and Avocado Summer Rolls with Mustard-Soy Sauce.  What a refreshing looking appetizer!  I’m also in love with all things avocado.

Favorite Kitchen Trick: How clever!  When you use green onions, save the white ends and stick them in water & watch them grow back.  You’ll always have green onions on hand!

Favorite Cookie: Fresh Peaches & Cream Cookies.  I don’t know about you, but in the summertime, I can’t resist desserts with fruit in them.  These look light and tasty!

Favorite Organizer:  We currently have a tote full of cords.  I try to ignore the fact that it exists, but I still know it’s lurking in our basement.  Using this simple (and cute) trick, I can get my cords cleaned up and organized!

Favorite DestinationOh Aspen, how I love you so.  See you next weekend!!!!!!

Favorite Sauce: If you’ve had the pleasure of visiting a Raising Canes, you know how amazing their dipping sauce is.  Now you can make it at home!

Favorite Funny Decor:   Haha, I couldn’t help it.  Why do mustaches make me laugh so much?

Favorite Side: Black Rice Salad with Mangoes and Cashews. The salty and sweet combo is always a winner! Plus, the more colorful a plateful of food is, the better!

Favorite Must-Read:  I saw Will Allen about a month ago on “The Colbert Report” and immediately added his book to my list of must-reads.  Will’s book is about urban farming and increasing the amount of good food available to people living in more densely populated areas.  I find this topic very interesting and can’t wait to check out his book!

Favorite CakeCold Chocolate Snacking Cake.  This makes my mouth water.  I love this recipe and love the thought of having chocolate waiting for me in the fridge at all times. 🙂

Favorite Nails:  Very cute!  I like that this isn’t overly flashy, but it’s still eye-catching.

Favorite MealFig, Prosciutto, & Goat Cheese Pizza.  Just reading the recipe makes me imagine all of these flavors bursting in my mouth!  I must try this!

Favorite DIY Vases:  Instructions on cutting old glass bottles down to make vases.  I am going to try this for sure!  Wish me luck…and by luck, I mean safety.

Favorite DipYes!!  I love monster cookies and I’ll never pass up eating cookie dough.  This dip looks delicious!

Favorite BagThis bag would be great for traveling!  I love that it has a shoulder strap and I have a thing for stripes.

Favorite SandwichThe ultimate sandwich.  This New Orleans classic Muffuletta sandwich is on my list of must-make meals!

Favorite Small TreatMy mom used to make Vanilla Wafer Pudding all the time when I was a kid.  I can’t wait to relive the memories with these Banana Pudding Shots!

Favorite Funny:  To all of you that just finished the Bar Exam, congratulations!  You don’t have to feel like this anymore…

When I describe what it’s like to study for the bar exam.

Have a WONDERFUL Friday!!!!

Leave a comment